Today’s Run

I’ve decided to try to post more often about my day-to-day running versus only recording races and posting the occasional thought spill. In doing so, I hope to 1) save memories and thoughts, 2) improve my writing skills.

I felt fresh and eager this Monday morning after a few days off. A minor ankle sprain on Saturday of last week rendered me unable to run Monday-Thursday, which made managing the event-week stress even more difficult. Though I had a lot of energy, it was almost too much. I’ve noticed that my energy levels have adapted to my running load over time and when I’m not expending a lot of it on running, it builds up QUICKLY and is sometimes overwhelming. My brain goes 1000 mph and I find it difficult to concentrate. Anyway, I tested my ankle on Friday, on the treadmill, and it felt fine. On Saturday and Sunday, all waking hours were spent managing the 15,000+ participant event which I proudly help produce. After 12 hours of sleep on Sunday night, I was very antsy and excited for the week’s runs. I decided to start the week on the treadmill to ease my body back into it, but hit the streets for a hard run on Tuesday morning (yesterday). It felt difficult, refreshing, and cathartic. I still feel slightly tired from last week and the weekend, but know that my bounce will return quickly.

I did my standard 9 mile Belmont Shore loop today and decided to podcast-and-picture it, i.e. dawdle and relax. I’ve been running in this area for 10+ years and it never gets less beautiful.

I also listened to a great podcast about the so-called Anthropocene epoch, a nickname for our current Holocene epoch. The prefix “anthro” means human, humanoid, or human-like and the nickname (I use the term nickname, but many scientists are pushing to officially recognize our current epoch as Anthropocene, though when it started is in question) stems from the belief that human activity has significantly impacted and even changed the planet. Millennials such as myself have grown up with the terms “climate change,” “global warming,” “greenhouse gases” being thrown around, as well as instilled fears of impending global environmental doom. I knew that it was a problem, but parts of this podcast made me feel truly sad that it’s come this far. At one point, the narrator refers to our time as the cream part of an Oreo. The cookie sections are extinction events or serious climactic catastrophies and the cream part is our current “golden summer.” The larger message was that although these major earth extinctions are somewhat unpredictable, human activities are only helping to get us there sooner.

Surrounding that sad message though, there were some interesting tidbits that I pulled from the podcast such as Carl Sagan’s cosmic calendar, and this hidden gem in Norway:

 

Leave a Reply

